The Only Villain Is the Sea

Posted: 01/09/2013 in 1953

cruel sea

Maybe it was the flat acting, maybe it was the bland script, maybe it was the tepid directing, or maybe I’m just getting war film weary. Whatever the case may be Charles Frend’s adaptation of the novel The Cruel Sea just did not do it for me.  I wanted to like this film, I really did, but I just could not get into it.  Maybe at another time in another place I would have felt something for this film, but I just could not feel anything for anyone in The Cruel Sea.  I think I ran into the same thing with this film as I did with The Desert Rats.  I just didn’t care, and the director didn’t make me care at any point.  The film felt as choppy as the sea that was supposed to be the main character.  I think it’s worth a second look at some point to see if I was just having a bad day and the film was not as disjointed as it felt the first time.  For now I’ll just say that this will not be in my top 10 come year’s end.

As was the case with The Desert Rats the cinematography was certainly pretty.   Aside from some gorgeous cinematography though, I just don’t have much to say about this one.

** ~AOS

Leave a Reply

